Skip navigation

Keeping San Antonio Cool Since 1997

Open 7 Days a Week

210-684-1907

Reviews

General Air Conditioning is absolutely the best! Trane should be very proud to have them sell and service their products. I recommend General Air Conditioning and Trane to all my friends.

- Steven H.

Description Of Work:

This was the annual check up on the a/c, the fee was paid previously for two annual visits, so actually nothing was charged for the service today.


Member Comments:

Have been using General Air for a few years now, at least 5. Mike was on time, as normal. Professional appearance, came in greeted everybody, including the dogs in his usual friendly manner. Went right to work, checked everything out in a most timely manner. I will renew my service contract with them in October, when they will perform the heating check up. Excellent service, highly recommend them.

- W. Gallager - [March 30, 2012]

Description Of Work:
We lost air-conditioning in one end of our home one evening and noticed the compressor fan was not running on one of our units. It could have meant a new compressor, but thankfully was only a capacitor. In addition, the system needed to be re-charged with the older type freon. Also, the conduit from the other unit had become uncoupled from the housing.


Member Comments:
We realized on Thursday evening that the compressor had stopped working on one of our units. We had used General Air Conditioning in 2008 to service our units. We called at 7:45 the next morning and Andrew was here in less than 90 minutes. He replaced the capacitor, and the parts and labor for that part cost $224.51. While he was here, we had him check both systems, and he added refrigerant.

Prompt service. Although a bit expensive, they responded quickly and took care of the problem, which is what we needed.

- V. Carnes - [August 10, 2012]

Description Of Work:
This is the third time we have had them out and I am very pleased with the quality of work, the professionalism. I would rate them an A. It worth paying a little bit more for GREAT service. They normally are earlier than there appointment, however they call before they show up. Our A/C went out in the heat of summer and we were told they would be out the next day. They were out that evening a bit after 6 and did not charge the higher rate for a call after 6, which is there normal policy.


Member Comments:
Again it is worth paying a little extra. They do not rip you off. They work hourly not on commission.

- E. Gatzert - SA, TX [September 18, 2012]

I am a retired business professor and have extremely high expectations for quality customer service. In America today those expectations are often not met. So when I come across a company that not only meets but exceeds those expectations, it really stands out to me. General Air Conditioning is such a company.

Tim Bruce and the people at General Air are extremely responsive, professional and hard working. The key to selecting a quality air conditioner for your home is selecting a quality contractor. When I need a new home unit two years ago, I vetted numerous contractors not air conditioning manufacturers.

I selected the Trane unit not because of the high quality of the unit but the high quality of the contractor. I made a great decision and am extremely satisfied with General Air Conditioning and Trane.

- P. Fayfich - SA, TX [September 18, 2012]

Very quick to respond to our needs and quickly correct the problem.

- T. Conchin - Lakehills, TX [October 8, 2012]

We contacted Tim at the request of my son and daughter-in-law to get an estimate. Tim delivered an impressive and informative presentation. We also contacted 4 other companies for estimates. Before making our decision our hvac system stopped working. Although Tim’s estimate was not the least expensive, it wasn’t the most expensive. He was very quick to respond when we were without a/c in the 105F heat and we chose him and his company for the quick, professional response and the reliability of the equipment. He made an uncomfortable experience tolerable with his great staff. Great job! Great company!

- E. Stevens - [October 10, 2012]

General Air is the best of the best. They took care with my home and worked very long, hard hours to complete this project. I will recommend them to all friends and family.

- C. King - SA, TX [October 10, 2012]

General Air was selected because they recommended a plan to correct all the deficiencies at a reasonable cost and timely manner. The new installation improved the efficiency rating from 6 to 16.9. The surveyor (from CPS) gave compliments for a job well done. Also the crew worked diligently to assure the job was completed on schedule and without errors. They had to overcome the uncommon defects imposed by the former contractor 18 years before. In spite of those defects (unsealed ducts etc) tehXL1200 performed for all those years and could have operated further but the cost factors were a detriment to change. You built a fine a/c, heater and I would choose no other now.

- R. Battagilia - SA, TX [October 12, 2012]

The first contractor (from another company) who came out was a nightmare. He couldn’t answer any of our questions but was ready to sell us a system that very day! Tim was very professional and personable. He conducted a thorough evaluation and provided us with an estimate that included multiple options in a format that was very easy to understand. My husband and I too time that evening to go over everything and made a decision to have a system installed with the CleanEffects Electronic Air Filtration System. We are very happy with our new system and with General Air Conditioning!

- V. Stephens - [August 30, 2012]

My a/c went out on Good Friday and we were expecting out of state company for Easter. They came and tried to fix it, arrived at the conclusion it was the compressor and we needed a new system. Everything was carefully explained and all questions and choices given and answered. They stared putting in the system at 5:30 PM and had our a/c in by 11:30 pm so we could have it cool over the weekend. On Monday they returned and put in the heat pump system. Everyone went above and beyond to help us.

We have had a contract with General Air for 13 years, and this is the main reason. If something breaks over the weekend, they come out that day to fix it. You don’t have to wait around until Monday. They are prompt, courteous, and finish in a reasonable amount of time. They also leave everything clean when the leave. They even asked for paint to paint the woodwork they scratched putting in the upstairs unit. Most companies I have dealt with over the years never come on weekends and seldom clean thins up other than taking their equipment with them. GOOD JOB!

- J. Jimenez - Helotes [April 22, 2011]

Just a quick not to let you know what a great job you, Vicky and Jose did on the installation of our new air conditioning unit. All three of you wore courteous and worked diligently to make sure everything was installed and working properly. We also appreciate your explaining everything regarding the unit and the thermostat so clearly.

When the city of San Antonio inspector checked out the unit he asked me who installed it and I told him it was General. He said it was an outstanding job. I fully agree!

Once again, thanks for your promptness and the fantastic job you did. Feel free to use us as a reference at any time.

- Mario and M.J. - San Juan [August 3, 2006]

I am selling my home and one condition of the buyers was that I had the evaporator coils cleaned per the home inspection report. I previously called AirTron from this and after 2 hours on-site they said the coils were “dirty” and it would cost about $1000 to do the job. So I called your company for a second opinion.

Mike Castillo arrived on time and was very professional. He inspected the evaporator coils and even took pictures to show me the coils were not dirty and would not need cleaning. I asked him to go ahead and clean the outside coils so the entire job was only $89.00.

I even offered Mike a tip but he would not accept it – he said he was just doing his job. Thank you for being an honest company with honest employees.

Sincerely

- J. Mitchell - SA, TX [June 14, 2012]

The first contractor (from another company) who came out was a nightmare. He couldn’t answer any of our questions but was ready to sell us a system that very day! Tim was very professional and personable. He conducted a thorough evaluation and provided us with an estimate that included multiple options in a format that was very easy to understand. My husband and I too time that evening to go over everything and made a decision to have a system installed with the CleanEffects Electronic Air Filtration System. We are very happy with our new system and with General Air Conditioning!

- Virginia Stephens